Various Artists - Body Beat: Soca-Dub And Electronic Calypso (1979-98)


In stock

Quick Overview

Released 25th October 2019

View Detail

Body Beat: Soca-Dub and Electronic Calypso (1979-98) comprises 17 obscure Soca B-side versions, dubs, instrumentals and edits as well as vocal tracks influenced by disco, boogie, house-music, soul and the more conscious lyrics of roots reggae. This compilation traces the soca genre from its explosion in the late 1970s right up to the period just before contemporary soca became established around the end of the 1990s. All of these tracks are being reissued on vinyl for the first time.

Side A

A1. Cito Jarvis - Fighting Soldier (5.52)

A2. Roger Bain - Stand Up & Rock Your Body (Instrumental) (5.30)

A3. *D* Ivan - Fire (Extended Dub Edit) (5.37)

Side B

B1. Bill Campbell - Body Beat (4.23)

B2. Brother Resistance - Move It (Version) (5.52)

B3. Adonijah - It’s Alright (6.34)

Side C

C1. Peter Britto - I Want Your Love (5.04)

C2. Juno D - Hotter and Hotter (Dub Edit) (6.45)

C3. Colin Jackman - D’Jab Jab Dance (Bad Lad Mix) (4.22)

Side D

D1. Levi John - S-O-C-A (7.34)

D2. Spiking - Liberation Train (7.52)

Side E

E1. Mohjah - Zion Gates (Dub) (4.18)

E2. Andre Tanker - Wild Indian Band (6.24)

E3. Touch - Touch Music (Edit) (6.15)

Side F

F1. D’Rebel Band - Solid (6.41)

F2. The Millers - Last Days (5.58)

F3. Chocolate Affaire - Jump To Calypso (4.06)

Artist Various Artists
Title Body Beat: Soca-Dub And Electronic Calypso (1979-98)
Label Soundway
Format Triple LP
Release Date 25th October 2019
Cat Number SNDWLP132

You may also be interested in the following product(s)