The Soft Cavalry - The Soft Cavalry


Out of stock

Quick Overview

Released 5th July 2019

For Steve Clarke, The Soft Cavalry’s self-titled debut album is equally a labour of love, and the first record he’s masterminded from start to finish, with invaluable contributions from his wife, Slowdive’s Rachel Goswell, on co-vocals and spiritual / practical guidance, and Steve’s brother Michael, who produced the record. The band’s music is a particularly British brand of intense cinematic drama. Melodic and timeless, the album lands in the atmospheric dimensions between Pink Floyd, Talk Talk and Mansun. A record radiating midlife crisis but equally enormous elation; a helix of fear and hope, aching for resolution. A record Steve emphasises that he “needed” to make. The Soft Cavalry is also that rarity: a musical project that began life on an industrial site in Reading. Additionally, the album is a way of rewriting a man’s narrative, and proof that relative late bloomers (Steve was in his late thirties when he made the album) can make the record of their dreams.


  1. Dive
  2. bulletproof
  3. passerby
  4. the velvet fog
  5. never be without you
  6. only in dreams
  7. careless sun
  8. spiders
  9. the light that shines on everyone
  10. home
  11. mountains
  12. the ever turning wheel

deeply cinematic and crystalline songwriting here from steve clarke and rachel goswell that recalls talk talk, rustin man and goswell’s slowdive.

it’s astonishing to think this is a debut album – these tracks manage to skirt effortlessly between the britpop-not-britpop of mansun, the floating beauty of mark hollis and even real estate-y shimmering summer pop on the lilting ‘never be without you’. a simply gorgeous record that needs to be heard to be understood.

Artist The Soft Cavalry
Title The Soft Cavalry
Label Bella Union
Format Coloured Double LP
Release Date 5th July 2019
Cat Number BELLA914V

You may also be interested in the following product(s)