The Shangri-Las - Leader Of The Pack


In stock

Quick Overview

Reissue expected 8th March 2019
View Detail

Early girl group The Shangri-Las formed in 1963, a vocal quartet of two pairs of sisters, (A lineup that would later fluctuate into a trio) coming up performing at school dances, talent shows, and sock hops. In contrast to other girl groups of the era, The Shangri-Las stood out from their more glamourous and demure peers with their "tough girl" image, derived from their hard-scrabble upbringing in Queens.

They were also notable for being unafraid to dabble in darker lyrical territory, touching upon themes of adolescent alienation, loneliness, and abandonment, at a time when bubblegum pop still held sway. The Shangri-Las received their first recording contract through Kama Sutra Records, with which they cut several singles, but saw little in the way of commercial success. It wasn't until 1964, when the group would sign with Red Bird Records, and come into the tutelage of famed producer George "Shadow" Morton. With Morton, the Shangri-Las would cut a number of highly successful singles throughout the mid-60s, including "Remember (Walking In The Sand)" (Which featured session piano from Billy Joel, early in his career.) and their signature song "Leader Of The Pack", which reached #1 on the Billboard Hot 100 charts, and is regularly ranked as one of the greatest pop songs of all time. Over time the Shangri-Las' commercial fortunes would wane, as "Shadow" Morton turned his attention towards other acts. By 1968 they broke up amid heavy litigation, angry at having been denied royalties. Decades later comes Leader Of The Pack, with it the Shangri-La's best singles have been compiled into a single LP. In addition to their hits "Remember (Walking In The Sand)" and "Leader Of The Pack", the collection also features their sassy takes on songs by Wanda Jackson, The Isley Brothers, and The Chantels, among many others.


  1. give him a great big kiss
  2. leader of the pack
  3. bull dog
  4. it's easier to cry
  5. what is love
  6. remember (walking in the sand)
  7. out in the street
  8. i can never go home anymore
  9. right now and not later
  10. the dum dum ditty
  11. give us your blessings
  12. sophisticated boom boom
  13. long live our love
  14. the train from kansas city
  15. twist and shout
  16. maybe
  17. so much in love
  18. shout
  19. good night my love, pleasant dreams
  20. you can't sit down

Artist The Shangri-Las
Title Leader Of The Pack
Label 8th Records
Format LP
Release Date 8th March 2019