The Pop Group - Y (Definitive Edition)


Out of stock

Quick Overview

Includes original large format poster. Includes bonus 12"

This is the 40th Anniversary Edition of The Pop Group’s highly influential and innovative debut album ‘Y’ released in 1979, remastered (from the original tapes) and cut half speed at Abbey Road.

The Pop Group’s Y regularly appears in ‘Greatest Album’ lists - such as Pitchfork’s Greatest Albums of the 70’s where it is listed at #35, The Wire’s 100 Most Important Records Ever Made and Uncut Magazine’s 100 Greatest Debut Albums.

The Vinyl and CD deluxe sets will include the debut single 'She Is Beyond Good And Evil' (also remastered).

The package will also include the 10 track album Alien Blood, and the album titled Y Live.

Alien Blood is the result of the band’s meticulous process of revisiting the original 2” tapes of their studio sessions and recordings, unearthing never-before-heard material, including the studio recording of ‘Kiss The Book’, gloves off version of ‘We Are Time (Ricochet)’, and ‘Words Disobey Me (Dennis The Menace Mix)’ whilst exposing the raw skeletons of iconic tracks such as the original velocity of ‘Thief of Fire (Bass Addict).’ Alien Blood reveals the life of Y before everything was finalized, exposing revelatory dimensions within these iconic works.

The Y Live album is an essential addendum to the original release, one that captures all the fierce urgency of The Pop Group’s live performances at the time. Comprised of Y era recordings captured at a variety of locations including New York, Manchester & Brussels – the latter on a bill with William Burroughs and Joy Division – Y Live exemplifies what had proved so thrilling about The Pop Group. A snapshot of a time when the group were sharing stages with future acolytes including Cabaret Voltaire, Linton Kwesi Johnson & Public Image Ltd, Mark Stewart describes the recordings as attempts to ‘paint the impossible’.

The Pop Group went on to release 2 further singles, We Are All Prostitutes and Where There Is A Will (Split single with the Slits) and 1 further studio album For How Much Do We Tolerate Mass Murder, before splitting up in 1981.

Mark Stewart from the band embarked on a solo career releasing his pioneering album Learning To Cope With Cowardice in 1983. Gareth Sager and Bruce Smith went on to form Rip Rig & Panic alongside Neneh Cherry.

The Pop Group reformed in 2010 to tour and have since released 2 new studio albums.


A1 Thief Of Fire (Remastered)
A2 Snowgirl (Remastered)
A3 Blood Money (Remastered)
A4 Savage Sea (Remastered)
A5 We Are Time (Remastered)
B1 Words Disobey Me (Remastered)
B2 Don't Call Me Pain (Remastered)
B3 Boys From Brazil (Remastered)
B4 Don't Sell Your Dreams (Remastered)

Artist The Pop Group
Title Y (Definitive Edition)
Label Mute
Format LP + 12"
Release Date 1st November 2019
Cat Number LTPGYCD1

You may also be interested in the following product(s)