The Divine Comedy - Office Politics


Out of stock

Quick Overview

Released 7th June 2019

Neil Hannon, one of the country’s foremost songwriters, releases a wonderful new Divine Comedy album ‘Office Politics’. It’s the follow-up to the acclaimed top ten 2016 album ‘Foreverland’. “Office Politics” is a 16 track tour de force full of inventive, timeless music peopled with a typically irreverent cast of characters. “It has synthesizers. And songs about synthesizers,” Neil says. “But don’t panic. It also has guitars, orchestras, accordions, and songs about love and greed.” But ‘Office Politics’ central characters are the machines. Or ‘Infernal Machines’ as one track rages. 

The album was written, arranged and produced by Neil Hannon and features guest vocals from Chris Difford of Squeeze, Cathy Davey and Pete Ruotolo. 

“I do try to make normal records,” Neil says with a smile. ”But it always seems to wander off into odd territories.”

And for that we should be thankful.


Office Politics
Norman And Norma
Absolutely Obsolete
Infernal Machines
You'll Never Work In This Town Again
Psychological Evaluation
The Synthesiser Service Centre Super Summer Sale
The Life And Soul Of The Party
A Feather In Your Cap
I'm A Stanger Here
Dark Days Are Here Again
Philip And Steve's Furniture Removal Company
Opportunity' Knox
After The Lord Mayor's Show
When The Working Day Is Done

Artist The Divine Comedy
Title Office Politics
Label Divine Comedy Records
Format Coloured Double LP
Release Date 7th June 2019
Cat Number DCRL112LPX