Sigur Rós - Ágætis byrjun (20th Anniversary Edition)


In stock

Quick Overview

Reissued on 5th July 2019
View Detail

In 1999 the band released Ágætis Byrjun (‘A Good Start’), Q magazine deemed Ágætis Byrjun ‘the last great record of the 20th century’. By the end of the year, it had won the inaugural US Shortlist Prize for Artistic Achievement in Music.

This year celebrates the 20th Anniversary of Ágætis Byrjun, the band expand their breakthrough album with demo and archive versions of songs from the album, plus never-before-heard newly unearthed material from the time, rare b-sides and the full 95 minute concert played in Reykjavík on the day the record was released. 

Double LP pressing with download code for the extras!


  1. Intro
  2. Svefn-g-englar
  3. Starálfur
  4. Flugufrelsarinn
  5. Ný batterí
  6. Hjartað hamast (bamm bamm bamm)
  7. Viðrar vel til loftárása
  8. Olsen Olsen
  9. Ágaetis byrjun
  10. Avalon

Demos & Rarities (Expanded Download)

  1. Svefn-g-englar (live at popp í reykjavík, 1998)
  2. Starálfur (original speed version)
  3. Flugufrelsarinn (1998 demo)
  4. Ný batteri (instrumental)
  5. Hjartað hamast (bamm bamm bamm) (1995 demo)
  6. Viðrar vel til loftárása (al-ternative ending)
  7. Olsen Olsen (1998 demo)
  8. Ágaetis byrjun (1998 demo)
  9. Song 1 (Demo)
  10. Song 2 (Demo)
  11. Song 3 (Demo)
  12. Debata Mandire (live at laugardashöll, 1999)
  13. Rafmagnið búið (from ný batterí ep, 2000)

Live at íslenska óperan (Expanded Download)

  1. Intro (Live at Íslenska Óperan, 1999)
  2. Von (Live at Íslenska Óperan, 1999)
  3. Syndir guðs (Live at Íslenska Óperan, 1999)
  4. Flugufrelsarinn (Live at Íslenska Óperan, 1999)
  5. Olsen Olsen (Live at Íslenska Óperan, 1999)
  6. Ágaetis byrjun (Live at Íslenska Óperan, 1999)
  7. Viðrar vel til loftárása (Live at Íslenska Óperan, 1999)
  8. Svefn-g-englar (Live at Íslenska Óperan, 1999)
  9. Ný batterí (Live at Íslenska Óperan, 1999)
  10. Nýja lagið (Live at Íslenska Óperan, 1999)
  11. Hafsól - (Live at Íslenska Óperan, 1999)

Artist Sigur Rós
Title Ágætis byrjun
Label Krunk
Format Double LP
Release Date 5th July 2019
Cat Number 0190296904301