Playing For Change - Listen To The Music


In stock

Quick Overview

Released 16th November 2018

View Detail

‘Listen To The Music’ is the fourth star-studded ‘Songs Around The World’ album and video series from the world-renowned Playing For Change organization. It features audio recordings of hit rock and world-beat songs, along with a compelling series of performance videos in which Playing For Change’s unique recording process is documented to great effect.

Each song is multi-track recorded and videotaped in multiple picturesque locations around the world by visionary producer and philanthropist Mark Johnson. The full 12 song project features more than 200 Artists and was recorded in 25 different countries.

Featured stars include The Doobie Brothers, Ellis Hall, Jack Johnson, Dr. John, Warren Haynes, Cyril and Ivan Neville, John Cruz, Preservation Hall Jazz Band (New Orleans), TP OK Jazz Band from Congo (Kinshasa), John Densmore, Bombino, Buddy Guy, Waddy Wachtel, Roots Gospel Voices of Mississippi, James Gadson, Reggie McBride, Karl Denson, Roberto Carcasses, Mamadou Diabate, Lee Oskar, Anders Osborne and Pancho Amat.


1- LISTEN TO THE MUSIC featuring The Doobie Brothers & Ellis Hall
2- EVERLASTING ARMS featuring Luke Winslow-King, Vasti Jackson, & Dr. John
3- ALL ALONG THE WATCHTOWER featuring John Cruz, Warren Haynes, Cyril Neville, & Ivan Neville
4- NATURAL MYSTIC/JUST A LITTLE BIT featuring Paula Fuga, Jack Johnson, & Afro Fiesta
5- SKIN DEEP featuring Buddy Guy
6- CHAN CHAN featuring Teté Garcia Caturla, Pancho Amat, & Mamadou Diabaté
7- AFRICA MOKILI MOBIMBA featuring Preservation Hall Jazz Band & TP OK Jazz Band
8- AHOULAGUINE AKALINE featuring Bombino & Lee Oskar
9- RASTA CHILDREN featuring Paulo Da Luz & Blue King Brown
10- CONGO TO THE MISSISSIPPI featuring Afro Fiesta, Grandpa Elliott, Vasti Jackson, & Leon Mobley
11- BRING IT ON HOME TO ME featuring Roger Ridley, Alice Tan Ridley, & Grandpa Elliott
12- RIPPLE featuring Jimmy Buffett, David Crosby, & David Hidalgo

Artist Playing For Change
Title Listen To The Music
Label Motema
Format LP
Release Date 16th November 2018
Cat Number MTM0306