Johnny Cash - Easy Rider: The Best Of The Mercury Recordings


In stock

Quick Overview

Released 26th June 2020
View Detail

In 1986, after almost 30 years on Columbia Records, Country music legend Johnny Cash released his first album on Mercury Records – Class Of ’55, in collaboration with fellow Sun Records alumni Roy Orbison, Jerry Lee Lewis and Carl Perkins. Seven years later, his last recording before signing with Rick Rubin’s American Recordings would be another collaboration, The Wanderer, with U2. In the years that span those recordings, Johnny Cash released a total of six albums for Mercury Records. The highlights of that output are presented here, on the brand new compilation Easy Rider: The Best Of The Mercury Recordings. Now remastered for the very first time, using the original Mercury master tapes, the 24 tracks that make up the set feature Cash’s updated interpretations of classics songs Get Rhythm and Tennessee Flat Top Box, the rare B-side Veteran’s Day, Elvis Costello’s The Big Light, and his collaboration with U2, The Wanderer. Featuring brand new liner notes by music writer Scott Schinder, Easy Rider represents the very first collection of Johnny Cash’s Mercury Records recording career.

Disc 1
Side A
1. Waymore Blues (With Jerry Lee Lewis, Roy Orbison and Carl Perkins) - Johnny Cash
2. We Remember the King - Johnny Cash
3. The Big Light - Johnny Cash
4. The Night Hank Williams Came to Town (With Waylon Jennings) - Johnny Cash
5. Let Him Roll - Johnny Cash
6. W. Lee O'Daniel (And the Light Crust Dough Boys) - Johnny Cash

Side B
7. Ballad of a Teenage Queen (With Roseanne Cash & the Everly Brothers) - Johnny Cash
8. The Last of the Drifters (With Tom T. Hall) - Johnny Cash
9. That Old Wheel (With Hank Williams Jr.) - Johnny Cash
10. Get Rhythm - Johnny Cash
11. Tennessee Flat Top Box - Johnny Cash
12. Sunday Morning Coming Down - Johnny Cash

Disc 2
Side C
1. Veteran's Day - Johnny Cash
2. A Backstage Pass - Johnny Cash
3. Cat's in the Cradle - Johnny Cash
4. Farmer's Almanac - Johnny Cash
5. Monteagle Mountain - Johnny Cash
6. I Shall Be Free - Johnny Cash

Side D
7. I'm an Easy Rider - Johnny Cash
8. The Greatest Cowboy of Them All - Johnny Cash
9. Hey Porter - Johnny Cash
10. The Mystery of Life - Johnny Cash
11. Goin' By the Book - Johnny Cash
12. The Wanderer (With U2) - Johnny Cash

Artist Johnny Cash
Title Easy Rider: The Best Of The Mercury Recordings
Label Back To Black Vinyl
Format Double LP
Release Date 26th June 2020
Cat Number 5389733