Camera Obscura - My Maudlin Career


Out of stock

Quick Overview

Repress reissued on 24th May 2019

Now repressed in 2019 after being long out-of-stock!

You'd be hard-pushed to find an album with as many well-crafted, supremely catchy pop songs as this. Original yet soothingly familiar, these tunes manage to break your heart and take you to the top in equal measure. They're written and sung by Tracyanne Campbell and there can't be a sweeter, more believable voice in pop right now. It's like she's your best friend, singing in your ear, but what she's singing is the pages of her diary! This is actually Camera Obscura’s 4th album, but the others just led up to this one; this is the one where they’ve distilled their thing. The production’s perfect too: Concrete’s producer Jari Haapalainen perfectly capturing the old-school indie classicist vibe. Every song's a gem, there's not one duffer, but the gorgeous slowie "James" and the euphoric, horn-driven "Honey In The Sun" deserve a special mention. Mancunian legend Paul Morley's a massive fan too: that's good enough for me!


1. French Navy 
2. The Sweetest Thing
3. You Told A Lie 
4. Away With Murder 
5. Swans 
6. James 
7. Careless Love 
8. My Maudlin Career 
9. Forests And Sands 
10. Other Towns And Cities 
11. Honey In The Sun

Artist Camera Obscura
Title My Maudlin Career
Label 4AD
Format LP
Release Date 24th May 2019
Cat Number CAD2907