Atomic Forest - Disco Roar


In stock

Quick Overview

Released 27th September 2019

View Detail

The re-discovered third album by India’s best known psychedelic-rock ensemble, presented in its entirety. The companion piece to Atomic Forest anthology "Obsession". Covers of Deodato, Stevie Wonder and “Spectrum,” the heaviest Indian psych-funk jam unearthed to date. Over the course of four years, culminating in 2011, Now-Again Records assembled the Atomic Forest anthology "Obsession", which delved into and told the story of India’s 70s rock underground and this psychedelic ensemble’s story. At the time they issued "Obsession", they were not aware of the third album that the Atomic Forest had recorded, issued under Kanga’s name as "Disco Roar".

'That Disco Roar album was the first time we were doing anything like that. It was the first thing we did. It progressed into the "Hit Film Themes" album. Then these guys came with more commercial potential songs (which became "Obsession ’77"). But originally it was just a band, the live performances that we did, that made us very popular, these simple songs,' guitarist Abraham Mammen recalls. Atomic Forest’s story stands in for the untold stories of many of India’s underground bands, bands remembered vividly by those who witnessed their performances, bands that often homemade, cassette recordings – that have been lost to time. Mammen, now a traveling preacher splitting his time between India and the United States, reflects on the unlikely reissue of the Atomic Forest’s recordings: 'What’s left of the Atomic Forest? It’s just like smoke: smoke on the water.’ With the release of Disco Roar, that smoke keeps rising.


A1. 2001 Space Odyssey
A2. Life Is Anew
A3. Proud Mary
A4. Devil Woman
A5. You Are On My Mind
A6. Thank You Lord
A7. Smack Water Jack

B1. Spectrum
B2. I Wish
B3. Rock N' Roll
B4. Disco Queen
B5. Nights In White Satin
B6. Another Star

Artist Atomic Forest
Title Disco Roar
Label Now-Again Records
Format LP
Release Date 27th September 2019
Cat Number NA5188LP