Walker Family Singers - Panola County Spirit [VINYL]


In stock

Quick Overview


View Detail

In April of 2010, Robert, Bobby, Alberta, Delouse, and Patricia gathered at the home of their parents, Raymond and Joella Walker to make a recording with Michael Reilly. It would be Reilly’s third venture to record the a capella gospel tradition of Como, Mississippi for Daptone Records.

It was during his first recording (The Voices of Panola County: Como Now) that he encountered the Walker family and learned of their great musical tradition. Raymond Walker was courted by both Fred McDowell and Sam Cooke - each asked him to sing behind them on tour. espectfully, Raymond declined, on account that the singers wanted him to sing blues rather than gospel.

However, it was the Walkers’ voices and not their rich history that captured the attention of Daptone and inspired Reilly’s return to Como to make a full-length record of the Walker family songs. Recorded in their living room, these performances are as deep and stirring as they are unembelished. Take a moment to take in Panola County Spirit, with The Walker Family Singers.


1 The Lord Is Blessing Me
2 Jesus Gave Me Water
3 My Time Will Come
4 Had My Chance
5 Chilly Jordan
6 Make Me Real
7 Leave That Liar Alone
8 There Will Be A Fire One Day
9 Jesus Died On Calvary
10 Oh Lord Hear My Voice
11 Jesus Walk With Me
12 Sweet Home
13 Don't Wonder About Him
14 Old Ship Of Zion
15 Living Testimony
16 Shake My Mother's Hand
17 He Didn't Have To Wake Me

Artist Walker Family Singers
Title Panola County Spirit
Label Daptone
Format LP
Release Date 8th April 2016
Cat Number DAP039LP

You may also be interested in the following product(s)